One for all, and all… well you know the rest

Anna Butler

Image

I can’t say I ever really got into the Three Musketeers except for hey! swords and hats with cool feathers.  But today’s the sort of day where their motto is on my mind a lot.  Today is International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia, and I’m proud to take part in the blog-hop to support it.

When I was growing up, I had my eyes opened by radical feminists. People like Germaine Greer taught us to look at society and its expectations as (sometimes subtle, often overt, always deeply entrenched) ploys to keep women as second class citizens, as not good enough to be men and have a man’s privileges. They showed us that misogyny was the warp and weft of our society. I thought that here was someone, a small group of someones, who had found a voice for us, who spoke for us with wit and biting, incisive intelligence.

I…

View original post 913 more words

Leave a Reply

